top of page

Professional Driver's License

First off, to all of our current professional drivers operating across Canada, thank you. I truly am grateful for your continued dedication to being essential workers, not just with the pandemic, but every day. I know that without your dedication, the comforts of each day would be non-existent, and I believe this is something that can be at times overlooked.

For those looking to obtain your professional driver's license and start their profession in the transportation industry, I applaud you. The transportation industry is full of opportunities to succeed, as there are constant challenges and ways to improve how things are currently done.

The Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators (CCMTA), communicates in the National Safety Code Standard 4: Driver Licensing Classification, the purpose to designate classes of vehicles for driver licensing and prescribe the fundamental knowledge and skills for the type of vehicle to be safely operated on Canadian roads.

This means that across Canada, each Province recognizes a different type of driver's license class, in one shape or another, and ensures those that obtain that class of license have the required knowledge and ability to operate such a vehicle.

The different license classes' names can differ from province to province, but the expectation for the professional driver to have a certain level of required knowledge and ability remains the same. For example, in Alberta, you can have your class 1 driver's license, while in Ontario, the same type of license is identified as a full Class A license. Ironically, British Columbia, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Quebec, Newfoundland & Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island all identify with the class 1 driver's license which leaves Ontario as the stand-alone province on this matter.

An advantage Ontario has, which Alberta has recently adopted, is the mandate of entry-level training for specific classes of licenses. Why I believe this to be an advantage, is recently the CCMTA passed the National Safety Code Standard 16 become the Commercial Truck Driver Entry Level Training (Class 1) Standard. Since Ontario and Alberta have already implemented MELT training, each province is a sense, is ahead of the curve, and will be in a position to offer support to other provinces now required to implement MELT.

As our industry continues to evolve, I am confident other provinces are close to introducing mandatory education for class 1 and class 2 drivers.


Did you know, the Pivotal Transportation Industry Solutions offers online compliance training that is designed by industry experts, to help ensure you meet your regulatory requirements?

If you or someone that you know requires compliance training and prefers to take the courses online, then I encourage you to send us an email to inquire further,


Success in Our Industry

First off, I want to express my gratitude to the professionals working in the transportation industry.

Collision Evaluation - Alberta

In Alberta, all collisions reported to Alberta Transportation involving your NSC commercial vehicle(s)will appear on your carrier profile as a preventable collision.

DriverAppreciation #ThankATrucker #Alberta #British Columbia #Safety #SafeLocationToRest #Transportation #Trucking #Trucks #International #TruckingAdvocate #TransportationAdvocate #Alberta Transportation #BCTransportation #AlbertaProud #AFamilyMission #TruckFocusPodcast #ELD #Telematics #WinterDriving #WinterSafety #ProfessionalDrivers #Income #Job #TruckingJobs #TruckingJob #RemoveDemerits #DemeritRemoval #Training #OnlineTraining #ComplianceisAMindset #Compliance #AlbertaCompliance #Focus #Calgary #RockyViewCounty #Highway1 #Highwayone #RoadSafety #ProOil #Albertaproud #EnjoyTheJourney #TruckingIndustry #TransportationIndustry #CarrierCompliance #DriverCompliance

8 views0 comments
bottom of page